Thanks for all the Comment SPAM

When I first started my WordPress blogs, I was amazed at the amount of SPAM which came in daily via comments.

I grew tired of deleting the Comment SPAM.

If you think email SPAM is a problem, then start a blog to check out the vast amount of Comment SPAM that Blogs receive.

In one way getting all this SPAM has delayed my ideas of self hosting. Right now wordpress.com takes care of a lot of stuff, including spam filtering. If I self host then it would all fall into my lap.

Earlier in September I thought that I would enable comments again. I had stopped allowing comments to be rid of the constant inflow of SPAM.

It did not take long for the bots spreading the SPAM to find out that I have allowed comments again. The sad thing is that Real Comments get filtered and possibly deleted along with the tidal wave of Spam comments.

The Spam is supposed to help the SEO of the website being promoted in the SPAM. I’m sure that Google and the other Search Engines filter out SPAM Comments, so SEO is not helped. But hey sending SPAM Comments all over the world costs nothing, so they let it rip.

I’ll probably cut off comments later this month, as the amount of received Comment Spam grows each and every day.

Some of the Spam comments fill multiple screens. They are longer than my longest blog post.

The amount of bandwidth used worldwide must be huge. If I left the Spam comments in my posts, then all my posts would take forever to load and display.

End of rant. I feel better.

Now let us return to our regularly scheduled programming….